SA REIT Association announces new exec committee members for 2023/2024

Joanne Solomon, CEO of SAREIT
Joanne Solomon, CEO of SAREIT.

The South African Real Estate Trust Association (SAREIT) has announced the appointment of its newly elected officer bearers and committee members for the 2023/2024 financial year.

Estienne de Klerk, CEO of Growthpoint Properties, will lead the association’s executive committee with other re-elected members including Joanne Solomon, the CEO of the SAREIT Association, and Gareth Rees, Finance Executive and Chief Risk Officer of Liberty Two Degrees, who will continue his role as Treasurer.

Geoff Jennett, Chief Executive Officer of Emira Property Fund was re-elected as the Chairperson of the Conference Committee.  The committee is responsible for the planning and execution of the Association’s conference which will be held on the 15th of February 2024.

Additionally, the executive committee includes Leon Kok, Chief Operating Officer of Redefine Properties, who has been re-elected as Chairman of the Accounting and JSE Committee. The committee’s primary objective is to develop and uphold best practice recommendations, ensuring property companies deliver outstanding annual financial and non-financial reports. This will provide investors with reliable and consistent disclosures in accordance with JSE regulations.

The Investor Committee, a key component in strengthening relationships and engagement with institutional investors, will be chaired by the CEO of Investec Property Fund, Andrew Wooler. This committee also seeks to enhance understanding of relevant sector issues while positively influencing the market’s perception of the asset class.

Taking the helm of the Research Committee is Itumeleng Mothibeli, Managing Director of Vukile Property Fund, Southern Africa. This committee will focus on generating and providing access to high-quality, independent research concerning the listed property sector in South Africa and other pertinent markets.

The Legal and Competition Commission Committee will be led by the recently elected Chairperson, Tracey Wolf. This committee will address REIT-specific legislation and competition-related matters, collaborating closely with other industry bodies to ensure alignment on relevant issues.

Championing the Transformation Committee is Shawn Theunissen, Executive for Corporate and Social Responsibility at Growthpoint Properties. This committee plays a vital role in supporting broad-based black economic empowerment principles within the sector.

With 25 members listed on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, the SA REIT Association is dedicated to assisting its members in navigating the complex regulatory and governance landscape. By addressing sector challenges and providing essential guidelines and support, the Association aims to meet stakeholder needs while promoting South African REITs as a compelling investment class, both locally and internationally.

SA REIT CEO Joanne Solomon says the expertise and dedication of the newly elected executive team and committee members play a crucial role in aligning the local REIT with international standards.

We are confident they will contribute to the continued success of our organisation. Please join us in wishing them a successful term in office,” Solomon says.