Jolidee Matongo elected as new Executive Mayor of Johannesburg

Councillor Jolidee Matongo (photo credit:

Councillor Jolidee Matongo has been elected as the City of Johannesburg’s new Executive Mayor during the municipality’s recent 27th Extra-Ordinary Council Meeting.

Matongo, the former member of the Mayoral Committee (MMC) for Finance in the current term of office, will take over for the remainder of the term following the recent passing of the Executive Mayor, Councillor Geoff Makhubo.

Shortly after he was sworn in on Tuesday, the 10th of August 2021, he announced his ten-member, Mayoral Committee (MMCs).

There are very few changes to the new list of MMCs with most members remaining in their portfolios assigned by the late Geoff Makhubo.

Only the Finance and Economic Development portfolios were assigned new MMCs as Councillor Matshidiso Mfikoe and Councilllor Thomas Mofokeng, respectively.

Mfikoe returns as MMC Finance after having served as an MMC for the Environment and Infrastructure Services Department (EISD) under the former Johannesburg Mayor Parks Tau pre-2016.

Meanwhile, Mofokeng replaces MMC Lawrence Khoza in the Economic Development portfolio.

EISD MMC Mpho Moerane, Housing MMC Mlungisi Mabaso, Transport MMC Helen Makhuba, as Health and Social Development MMC Eunice Mgcina remained unchanged.

Also retained in their portfolios are Group Corporate Shared Services MMC Loyiso Masuku, Community Development MMC Margaret Arnolds, Development Planning MMC Thapelo Amad and Public Safety MMC Mally Mokoena.

According to the City of Johannesburg, Matongo’s choice of MMCs is in support of the theme of continuation with the implementation of the Government of Local Unity’s (GLU) priorities which are aligned to the Joburg Growth and Development Strategy (GDS) 2040.