Areas and Places

Cape Town welcomes second free electric vehicle charger

Cape Town's second free public electric vehicle charger at Somerset West's Civic Centre.
Cape Town's second free public electric vehicle charger at Somerset West's Civic Centre.

The City of Cape Town has opened its second public electric vehicle (EV) charging solution in the parking area of the Somerset West Civic Centre.

This is the second of the City’s two solar powered EV charging stations with the first station located at the Belville Civic Centre. The sites were chosen because of their convenient, safe, and visible locations and the charging stations are currently offered free-of-charge to the public.

The City is supporting the uptake of eMobility and it is developing initiatives to help enable the growth of this technology in Cape Town so that it can become more accessible and rolled out in the future across all transport modes” comments the City’s Mayoral Committee Member for Energy and Climate Change, Councillor Phindile Maxiti.

This kind of proactive response to climate change will assist our city’s recovery from the Covid-19 pandemic over the coming years as the green economy offers new opportunities for businesses and jobseekers. It also helps to ensure that the local economy can continue to trade competitively in a global world that is rapidly rejecting carbon intensive goods and services. It is important that South Africa is not left behind and that we remain relevant to markets”.

In support of the growing global momentum to tackle climate change, Cape Town, along with cities in South Africa and worldwide, has committed to achieving carbon neutrality and climate resilience by 2050 to keep global warming to 1,5˚C. These necessary targets can only be reached through significant transitions in urban form, energy sources, transportation, and resource efficiency. A key element is cleaning up our sources of electricity and the electrification of transport.

The chargers were donated to the City by the United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO).