Record entries received for the 2016 AfriSam SAIA Awards

Entries of the AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation are now closed. This year saw a record 47 entries in the four award categories. The adjudication panel will now assess the list of entries, decide on a qualifying shortlist of projects which will then be visited and assessed in-loco before the final results are announced at an awards event in October this year.

The bi-annual AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation recognises contributions that bring sustainable innovation to human living environments through an integrated approach to communities, planning, design, architecture, building practice, natural systems and technology.

One innovation to the bi-annual awards this year was the introduction of an easy to use online entry system. The online system made it easier for applicants to enter the competition and also cut costs by reducing the amount of print material required. It also fits perfectly with the profile of the modern architect-tech savvy and at ease with the latest technology.

The online system may well have contributed to the record number of entries by reducing the cost and time of couriering large quantities of printed material. Real time support from the agency offices meant any missing documentation could be quickly and conveniently submitted in hours rather than days.

This Award Programme has further evolved to include two new categories. The two mainstay categories of Sustainable Architecture and Research in Sustainability are now joined by Sustainable Products and Technology and Sustainable Social Programmes. This means that the full spectrum of design, innovation and sustainability is now covered by the award categories.

The AfriSam-SAIA Award acknowledges and showcases buildings and projects that are the result of an integrated approach to architecture, natural systems and technology. They show that design and sustainability can and should be mutually reinforcing. Entries were received in all four categories.

The awards will once again highlight that South Africa is at the forefront of sustainable and innovative design and that sustainability in particular is part of our design culture and acknowledge the companies leading this.

The adjudicators for the awards are convener, Kevin Bingham along with Daniel Irurah (sustainable architecture academic), Llewellyn van Wyk (sustainable architect, CSIR), Sebasti Badenhorst (AfriSam representative), Eric Noir (Africa region director of the International Union of Architects’ work programme, Architecture for a Sustainable Future) and Richard Stretton (Eminent architect and furniture designer).