SAPOA acknowledges innovative excellence in property development

SAPOA President Amelia Beattie

The winners of the annual SAPOA Innovative Excellence in Property Development Awards were announced today at the Annual SAPOA International Convention and Property Exhibition in Durban.

Ticking all the right boxes, the 2015 winners prove that South Africa’s property industry is thriving in the most innovative way possible.

The South African built environment is a very loud place at the moment as iconic, aesthetically beautiful, sustainable and, above all, innovative buildings are screaming for attention – and they are being heard.

Once again the industry’s ‘Oscars of the property industry’ – the Innovative Excellence Awards – has once again recognised the country’s top buildings in terms of innovation, aesthetic appeal, sustainability, creativity, as well as game-changing architectural concepts.

In recognition of the importance of property development to the South African economy and the community which it serves, SAPOA has honoured those property innovators, developers, owners and built environment professionals who, through the quality of their products, have contributed significantly to the enhancement of the industry.

The winners of this year’s SAPOA Innovative Excellence in Property Development Awards are prime examples of how South Africa’s property industry is on par with the rest of the world in terms of top design, modern architecture, forward thinking sustainability and contemporary sexiness.

“This year’s winners form part of the country’s latest and best concrete cream of the crop,” notes SAPOA Chief Executive Officer Neil Gopal.

“Due to a large amount of entries this year, we decided to include a Merit Award category,” highlights SAPOA Innovative Excellence in Property Development Awards Chairman Pieter Engelbrecht of Growthpoint Properties.

Here are this year’s winners:

Mixed-use Development Winner, Overall Transformation Award Winner and Overall Winner: Newtown Junction

Retail Development Winner: Mall of Rosebank

Commercial Office Development Winner: 90 Grayston Drive

International Development Award Winner: West Hills Mall

Refurbishment Winner: BMW (South Africa) Head Office

Residential Development Winner: Sandton Skye

Other Development Winner: Steyn City Clubhouse

Industrial Development Winner: Westcon Offices and Warehouse

Overall Heritage Award Winner: Drostdy Hotel

Commercial Office Development Award Winner, Overall Green Award: The Department of Environmental Affairs

Innovative Development Merit Award Winner: The Watershed – V&A Waterfront

Other Development Merit Award Winner: Hatfield Studios

Commercial Office Development Merit Award Winner: Alice Lane Phase 2

The judges

Pieter Engelbrecht: Growthpoint Properties
Andries Schoeman: AECOM
Anthony Orelowitz: The Paragon Group
Beata Kaleta: DSA Architects
Christian Roberg: Abland
Craig Sutherland: Sutherland Multidisciplinary Engineers
Corné De Leeuw: DelQS Quantity Surveyors and Property Valuers
Hashim Bham: BTKM Quantity Surveyors
Itumeleng Mothibeli: Vukile Property Fund
John Truter: WSP Group Africa Structures
John Williamson: MDS Architecture
Ken Reynolds: Nedbank Limited
Queen Mjwara: STANLIB Direct Property Investment
Rudolf Nieman: JHI Project Management and Sterikleen
Sam Silwamba: Old Mutual South Africa
Sandi Mbutuma: Pentad Quantity Surveyors (Pty) Ltd
Wessel van Dyk: Boogertman + Partners Architects
Zinon Marinakos: DSA Architects International